The governing body of amateur motor sport within Atlantic Canada
ARMS Homepage
It is currently Tue Apr 30, 2024 11:24 am

All times are UTC - 4 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Ethanol?
PostPosted: Tue Nov 18, 2014 9:06 pm 
4th Gear
4th Gear

I think I saw somewhere that some gas is beginning to be sold in NS mixed with ethanol. I also think I saw somewhere on a racing forum that it makes a little more power than regular gas. Are there any rules about using it in Spec Miata?

Also, is there any easy way to tell if someone is using the blend or not? I've got no experience with this stuff at all.

Post subject: Re: Ethanol?
PostPosted: Wed Nov 19, 2014 10:06 am 
2nd Gear
2nd Gear

dont know about there andy but here in nb they all except for a few have it,i think it the law that the companies use a certain amount

PostPosted: Wed Nov 19, 2014 12:01 pm 
5th Gear
5th Gear

Nova Scotia is the same. 10% in all reg and mid grade gas. high test is said to have none. Not good for you carbs. lol. If its left to sit, it can eat the metal of cheaper Carbs. Its not going to make anyone any power at the level it is put in the pump fuels around here, and it needs proper tuning and timing to be affective. Seen a few test they did on different Hondas, and they made a bit of power, i think it was around 5-6 HP along the hole curve.

Id be more worried about people using the different boosters out now. like what Torco sells. Or even just running a mix of race gas. Or can SM do that?

AX-1995 Honda Civic CX FSP
RR-1995 Honda DelSol VTEC GT4
2009 Canadian Solosprint Champion.
ARMS Race Director. Race@armsinc.ca

PostPosted: Wed Nov 19, 2014 12:04 pm 
4th Gear
4th Gear

5-6 hp would be huge in Spec Miata. Any way to tell just by looking at the stuff whether what you get at the pump contains alcohol or not?

PostPosted: Wed Nov 19, 2014 12:18 pm 
4th Gear
4th Gear